Talent is hereditary

reg509

Genes determine your physical attributes. Whether you're born tall with a square chin or short with a weak chin, genetics directly determine whether you'll become a ripped chad, average normie or hideous incel. No one here will dispute that as we all know firsthand we were dealt bad cards by our genetics.

Few may dispute that intelligence is also directly determined by genetics. Genetics determine whether or not you're born with a mental disorder like ADD, Autism or full on mental retardation, each of which affect your overall mental capacity and your ability to learn and acquire information. I'm not trying to disparage such people, I myself have ADD. Another bad card in my deck.

However seemingly everyone here disputed the notion I proposed a while back that talent is also determined by genes. Talent at anything, singing, playing musical instruments, drawing, sports, etc. I used the fact that I'm not good at anything as an anecdotal example, to which people replied that I just need to try harder, don't give up, improve my personality skills. I began to wonder if I was on the wrong forum. I realised that a more thorough explanation was needed, so let me explain on the most technical level possible why I suck at everything.

I dream of playing the guitar, not even of being a rockstar, just being able to play casually as a hobby. Most beginner level tutorials start with learning the chords (strings) but in order to strum the chords one first needs hand-eye coordination, a skill you were either born with or not based on your genes. I was not born with hand-eye coordination, I can't improve upon something that I don't possess. Ergo I cannot play the guitar, no matter how hard I try. Just looking at it reminds me of my genetic inferiority and fills me with rage. I would smash the damn thing to splinters if it weren't a family heirloom. My grandfather had the necessary genes to play it, but they skipped over me.